Sun. Sep 25th, 2022

The NRL is simply three weeks from the top of the common season and the race for the Dally M Medal seems to be like coming all the way down to a battle between two halfbacks and a few Panthers stars.

Dragons skipper Ben Hunt is the favorite to win the sport’s highest particular person honour however will face stiff competitors from Penrith duo Isaah Yeo and Dylan Edwards, who’ve been on the forefront of the premiers’ dominance in 2022.

The darkish horse for the medal is Cronulla halfback Nicho Hynes, who has been instrumental in his facet’s rise to a share of second spot on the ladder.

Hynes, who was not even assured to be in Melbourne’s first-choice line-up final yr, may cap a meteoric rise if he can get his arms on the Dally M Medal.

He was third on 16 behind Hunt (19) and Yeo (17) when the NRL stopped publicising the weekly voting after Spherical 12. 

(Photograph by Jason McCawley/Getty Pictures)

Of the opposite contenders on the mid-point of the season, Mitchell Moses and Ryan Papenhuyzen have had their campaigns curtailed by harm whereas Nathan Cleary is now not within the operating on account of his harmful throw ban.

Storm star Cameron Munster has been in high quality type over the second half of the season and will stand up the leaderboard whereas teammate Jahrome Hughes and Roosters skipper James Tedesco will seemingly ballot loads of votes within the latter phases of the yr to be exterior possibilities.

Right here’s how the awards are shaping up heading into the ultimate few rounds.

Participant of the yr

(2021 winner – Tom Trbojevic): Hunt has been magnificent as just about a one-man band on the Dragons and won’t have the issue of teammates taking votes away.

Yeo and Edwards may hurt one another’s possibilities whereas Hynes, taking part in for a Sharks staff which has risen right into a share of second spot after eight wins in 9 matches, is prone to have polled strongly in numerous these video games. 

Hunt must overturn current historical past to win with St George Illawarra lacking out on the finals. 

Isaah Yeo

(Photograph by Brett Hemmings/Getty Pictures)

The final Dally M Medallist from a staff that didn’t make the playoffs was fallen Eels star Jarryd Hayne, when he shared the award with Cowboys legend Johnathan Thurston in 2014. 

Knights hooker Danny Buderus (2004) and Dragons five-eighth Trent Barrett (2000) are the one gamers to have received the award within the NRL period with out taking part in within the finals that season.

Hunt ought to win however Hynes is a powerful probability of an upset – he would have polled loads of votes because the Sharks have been victorious in eight of their previous 9 video games, plus they’ve three non-finals groups to complete the season.

Dally M leaderboard (after Spherical 12)

Ben Hunt (Dragons) 19
Isaah Yeo (Panthers) 17
Nicho Hynes (Sharks) 16
Mitchell Moses (Eels) 15
Ryan Papenhuyzen (Storm) 15
James Tedesco (Roosters) 14
Daly Cherry-Evans (Sea Eagles) 13
Dylan Edwards (Panthers) 13
Cameron Munster (Storm) 12
Adam Reynolds (Broncos) 11

Coach of the yr

(2021 winner – Craig Bellamy): A number of coaches have strong claims however the truth that Todd Payten has taken the Cowboys from 15th final season to a top-four end, seemingly second spot, means he’s a shoo-in for this award.

Captain of the yr

(2021 winner – James Tedesco): All the time a tricky one to select, this one may go to Daly Cherry-Evans for his efforts in retaining Manly collectively regardless of many hurdles they’ve confronted this season, significantly the Tom Trbojevic harm and the “inclusivity jersey” boycott fiasco.

Rookie of the yr

(2021 winner – Sam Walker): Cowboys second-rower Jeremiah Nanai has blitzed it this yr and can run away with this award.

Fullback of the yr

(2021 winner – Tom Trbojevic): Dylan Edwards has been the No.1 among the many No.1 jerseys this season – whereas some contenders have flashes of brilliance, his constant excellence and sturdiness has been on the forefront of Penrith’s success. Roosters skipper James Tedesco is his solely rival for this yr’s award following Ryan Papenhuyzen’s fractured kneecap final month.

Wingers of the yr

(2021 winners – Brian To’o and Reuben Garrick): Alex Johnston should absolutely high this class for his try-scoring efforts at South Sydney however the different candidate is prone to come all the way down to a battle between Corey Oates, Brian To’o, Daniel Tupou, Josh Addo-Carr and Selwyn Cobbo. Based mostly solely on membership type, Oates will in all probability get the nod for his renaissance on the Broncos.

(Photograph by Brett Hemmings/Getty Pictures)

Centres of the yr

(2021 winners – Justin Olam and Matt Burton): Justin Olam is a no brainer, not only for his bone-jarring defence however his all-round recreation at Melbourne. Valentine Holmes must be the opposite centre given his sturdy type for North Queensland and the Maroons on the left edge after an sad 2021 at fullback.

5-eighth of the yr

(2021 winner – Cody Walker): Cameron Munster will win this one by the size of the straight. Walker’s type has been strong once more this yr yr at Souths and Jarome Luai has completed nicely however Munster is a category above.

Halfback of the yr

(2021 winner – Nathan Cleary): This will likely be a three-horse race between Hunt, Hynes and Moses. All three have been integral to their respective staff’s success and though Nathan Cleary and Daly Cherry-Evans will likely be Australia’s two halfbacks within the World Cup, Hunt, Hynes or Moses wouldn’t look misplaced if an harm to the Origin duo means they’re wanted in that position for the Kangaroos.

SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 06: Nicho Hynes of the Sharks is tackled during the round 21 NRL match between the Cronulla Sharks and the St George Illawarra Dragons at PointsBet Stadium, on August 06, 2022, in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Matt King/Getty Images)

Nicho Hynes is tackled by Ben Hunt. (Photograph by Matt King/Getty Pictures)

Hooker of the yr

(2021 winner – Brandon Smith): Api Koroisau has been the shape hooker within the NRL this yr forward of his Origin counterparts Damien Cook dinner and Harry Grant, and Cowboys younger gun Reece Robson.

Props of the yr

(2021 winners – Payne Haas and James Fisher-Harris): The incumbent duo have missed a couple of video games right here and there however it wouldn’t be a shock if they continue to be high of the props. Canberra’s Joseph Tapine is the front-rower probably to interrupt their stranglehold.

Second-rowers of the yr

(2021 winners – Viliame Kikau and Isaiah Papali’i): Kikau is on monitor for a 3rd straight spot within the Dally M Crew of the 12 months whereas Nanai will in all probability edge out Kurt Capewell, Liam Martin, Angus Crichton and Hudson Younger to be his honorary second-row accomplice. 

Jeremiah Nanai scores. (Photograph by Cameron Spencer/Getty Pictures)

Lock of the yr

(2021 winner – Isaiah Yeo): Yeo, bro, he aint gonna lose this, y’all. Apologies, that was horrible. The Penrith skipper has once more been the dominant roving ahead within the NRL though Patrick Carrigan is closing the hole.

High Factors Scorer

(2021 winner – Reuben Garrick): Val Holmes (188) has a considerable lead on Roosters half Sam Walker (165). The sharp-shooting Cowboy will likely be nearly unattainable to trace down.

High Attempt Scorer – Ken Irvine Medal

(2021 winner Alex Johnston): He’s used to racking up hat-tricks and Johnston will high the try-scoring charts for a 3rd straight yr after hauls of 30 and 23 the previous two seasons. He has 27 after Thursday night time’s double in opposition to Penrith, eight away from Corey Oates, and will even widen that hole by season’s finish. 

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.